A little mid-day FUNNY......at my expense

I thought I would share with everyone what happened when I listed my house on VRBO for the first time, yesterday.

We are transitioning one of our property to 30 day only rentals (STRs are technically against city code and I’m sick of fighting with the city), and figured I needed to branch out from ABB. I’ve never used the VRBO platform before because I thought it was archaic and clunky. I diligently listed my house, added photos, etc. I added the rate of $200 per night with 30 night min (so I thought!) Was proud of myself it only ate an hour of my life, and went on with my day.

One hour later…I have 35 email requests to book, but the requests dates are all 4-5days during a local music festival (ave rates are $1000/night). Being very confused I log back on and see I have $200/night with 1 night min. I quickly change it to 30 days and send very apologetic emails to the 35 people who thought there was a chance they would be able to rent my house for $200/night during one of the busiest weekends.

The responses ranged from trying to negotiated, utter contempt for me, calls of discrimination and fraud, threats of ‘reporting me to VRBO’, and a a few very nice people that understood my gigantic blunder.

To add insult to injury I had sent out review requests to friends that had recently stayed with us over the holidays (apparently you don’t have to book via VRBO to leave a review), to try and bolster my add. Well, the angry belligerent mob of people I declined used the review against me in their tirades, that there was ‘no law’ and I just didn’t want to host them, bc my review was clearly from someone who stayed for less than 30 days. Double Whammy!!!

Thought I would share my blunder for everyone to enjoy and get a good chuckle :joy:

2 Likes