30 year old birthday parties?

Hi, I’m new to Airbnb and have a holiday house in Victoria Australia. Just wondering if other hosts have noticed 30 year olds booking holiday homes for their birthday venues? We’ve had 2 stay within our first month of hosting. The second didn’t say it was for his birthday and had more than 50 people - kept the whole community awake all night! I’ve since had three more 30th birthday requests and have declined all three. I suppose it’s a cheap way to hire a weekend venue but it certainly seems like a ‘thing’ in Melbourne.

I had a request for booking for 3 people into a 5 bedroom Victorian national trust house. I queried the reason for booking and the wanted to throw a 50th with 50 guests!
NO WAY! Not in my old house!
All the sticky beaks wanting a tour… could just see some of my small decorator items going walkies.
So I said my sewerage would not be able to handle the pressure and neither would the wiring or the neighbors.

3 Likes

Great big letters at the top of your listing: Only registered guests may use the rental and its grounds!

4 Likes

I didn’t know it before they booked, but I found 2 entries in our guest book that said they had their 30th birthday there. I hope they didn’t invite extra guests - I didn’t have my security camera in place then to see how many people arrive at the house.

If you don’t have one yet I strongly recommend getting a security cam if you aren’t on site.

Also ask for the names of each of the guests they are registering to stay with you (that’s one of our new policies to help avoid extra people showing up).

Just add “No 30th year birthday parties” in your House Rules :stuck_out_tongue:

If it’s a whole-house rental, it makes sense taking guests’ names during booking as @CanadianHost suggests. Oh and I’d +1 the security cam!
In all cases, it makes sense specifying in the House Rules that access to property is for the booked people only.

1 Like