What 2 things do you wish you knew before you started hosting?

Hi,

Getting ready to start hosting and am loving all the information on the site. What two things do you wish you had known before you started hosting or what are your 2 biggest headaches?

Thanks!

1 Like

I quickly learned that I needed two complete sets of sheets for each bed or I would be sent to the asylum. The rest I understood, but I had worked in hotels and B&B’s in the past. I strongly suggest not buying things until it is clear that your guests need and/or want them. No anticipating what type of guests you will attract.

10 Likes

Thanks. Do you ever have the guests start the laundry?

I wish I had known that

Bookings do come - and sometimes the phone goes dead silent and it feels like the business is a total flop - but those times pass and then the flood comes, and before you know it you’re sweating all the back-to-backs.

Something I’m still learning (we host in the home) is to be relaxed just being who we are. Sometimes my kids watch tv or play video games, and that just has to be ok; I can’t worry about our reputation, the reputation of home schoolers, or the reputation of US kids.

Oh, a third - to be very upfront with the guest when they are creating a problem. Don’t just let it keep going making your family miserable, becoming a bigger and bigger frustration - just be honest and upfront quickly.

7 Likes

3 sets of duvets, loads of towels, ( not easy to dry in wet climate I live in ) lots of bleach and cleaning products. You spend too much time on your knees scrubbing. Even if you are having a crappy day, you have to put that smile. keep track if using more than one platform

1 Like

This is so important. I read comments from hosts all the time who get stressed out over a broken glass or the trash not being taken out or other minor things. So for me anyway, the first thing a new host should work on is to not get stressed or emotional at all.