Newbie-first two reviews below 5 based on what I do not offer

I am new to Airbnb. I have only had five guests so far. The first two gave me a 3 and 4 overall rating respectively. I got two fives after that. I got the warning emails right away from Airbnb. The problem is they rated me on what I did not offer. One said they wanted more privacy even though I clearly state I only have a curtain in the stairway. (She privately told me she did not read it all and it was her mistake). The other review said guests who stay longer would want a kitchen, which I do not offer.

I am not sure how to handle these types of reviews or how to avoid them. Why would guests rate me on what I clearly state I do not offer or on what I clearly describe? I want to be gracious but I also want future guests to see my honesty in responding to reviews on what I donā€™t offer or cannot offer.

Because guests unfortunately donā€™t read your listing :frowning:

Why not provide a link to it here and we can have a look and see if we can make some suggestions on how to make it as clear as possible.

2 Likes

Sure! Here it is:

One of the main reasons I hang out on host forums is to be reassured that guests donā€™t read.

Itā€™s hard at the beginning, but 4 years and 60 reviews in, I still have ā€œwhat were they thinking?ā€ moments. :wink:

Iā€™ve noticed that the tweaking I do to my listing is moving away from adjectives (ā€œsafeā€ ā€œcleanā€ and ā€œcomfortableā€ are, alas, subjective and I want to manage guest expectations) and more towards concrete details (Casper mattress, 20 minutes from Manhattan, 3 loud kids and cat)

Taking a picture of the curtain (if you havenā€™t already) might help?

(Though Iā€™ve got pictures of my cat in my listingā€¦ people are still surprised. Sigh.)

Good luck.

7 Likes