New to Airbnb Hosting - can use some guidance!

Hello Friends,

I am new to Airbnb Hosting and looking for sharing a room in my apartment. I was hoping if you can guide me to begin my journey with Airbnb. If possible, please share

• valuable insights to be successful and get good reviews
  • some of the challenges you faced or still facing
  • any specific pain areas I must be careful about

Your inputs would be extremely useful.

Thank You!

We have a lot of positive reviews. I spend a few minutes talking to each guest to find out what would make their stay special. A few examples: Our current guest was born in Tibet. When he was a child his family fled to India. I told him that we have a Nepalese restaurant within walking distance. He liked it so much he’s gone twice in two days. Our last guest was following a gluten free diet. I offered to share the curry we were having for dinner and offered that she could cook rice for herself. I am willing to overlook glitches if I’m treated as a special person, not just a paycheck. I assume that this is true of others and act accordingly. Also, our dogs are our secret weapon. They are great icebreakers.

One of the big challenges for me is getting the guests to tell me what time they will arrive. I spend way too much time waiting for guests.

Look at the prior reviews the potential guest has received and the reviews they’ve left for prior hosts. If they are too picky, decline them. I have Instant Book enabled, but in my experience guests who use Instant Book aren’t as picky.

2 Likes

Good advice from @EllenN

One of the very best things to you to do is read this forum thoroughly - there is a lot of great advice.