New host and not getting bookings

I am a new host on Airbnb and had many views but no bookings. My VRBO listing did well for over a year with perfect 5 star reviews. I know it is probably the pricing, but Airbnb suggest a price which is about half of what I am used to at VRBO. It’s a beautiful, remodeled 2/2 house with secluded pool in an excellent Fort Lauderdale area. I am a commercial photographer and my photos are nice. Any suggestions other than pricing. Thank you, Gerhard

There is a thread specifically for South Florida hosts [is Ft Lauderdale considered South Florida?] I bet all of the Florida hosts here get regular pings when that topic is updated: http://www.airhostsforum.com/t/south-florida-section/3709

I am no help with Florida. Sorry.

The only thing I can suggest is lowering your price a bit to get those initial bookings. If I was looking at comparable listings with the same price, I’m going with the one that has reviews. If I saw a low price and a new host, I’d take the risk if I was saving money. It stinks to lower your price, but short-term you may have to if you want to get booked on Air. I only kept my prices low until I had like 5 bookings and 2 reviews. It was enough so that people feel confident in your place.

1 Like

Thanks Sarah, Airbnb suggests $70.00 a night, I am used to $175.00. I lowered it to $135.00 and will see what happens. I don’t have instant booking, do you think I should change that? It makes me nervous not to know who the potential guest is. Gerhard

1 Like

Fort Myers chiming in here.

Avoid Instant Book like the plague.