Large Group (16) wanting to rent house for weekend - Advice from Experienced U?

Hi,

I’m new to renting my house on AirBNB and have so far have rented to families, 4-8 total people. The house is a 5 bedroom, with more than enough room to sleep 16 with futons, so I set my listing for that, but I’m now nervous of people throwing a party. The house is on a lake, close to ski resorts, so I understand why people would stay for just Fri-Sat night, but help me best prepare for such a large group, freaking myself out here :stuck_out_tongue:

Any advice, or helpful ways to make sure that doesn’t happen or I’m protected? Should I make sure they have a review first?

My idea so far was -

Government IDs from the entire group
Rental Contract digitally signed by the entire group
Increased Security from $500 to $1000 for groups over 12 adults

Any advice would be appreciated, and thank you for this great platform.

No no no And NO!!! Just say NO to large groups, as there WILL be parties!!! (DOnt you remember college? :upside_down:)

You can ask forum members here about large groups and how they handle it, but because you are a ski house, it sounds like the potential could be even worse.

I would not rent to more than 8 regardless of how many it sleeps. You are asking for trouble…

BUt if you want to rent to more, would ask for $2500 deposit for any groups over 8. I would make sure you have exterior cameras all over the place… Make sure all your rules are clearly stated! Most will arrive calmly enough but once the booze gets going… Well look out. Groups that large will tear up your house and possibly annoy your neighbors.

I would tell the group of 16 sorry. I just wouldn’t do it. No amount of money is worth having your place destroyed.

3 Likes

That’s great advice, and I know, I’m picturing 22 year old me running a muck.

Okay so here’s my new terms -

1)Drivers License photo of all members of group.
2)Rental Contract signed by all members of group.
3)No more than 12 adults.