Help for dissertation

Hello!

I am a masters student from Goldsmith University in London who is writing my dissertation on Airbnb hosts and/or Superhosts. I would love to hear some of your experiences being a host and/or Superhost on the site. Did you find that it was “worth it”?

I would also love to hear from guests who have stayed with Superhosts, look for the Superhost badge when searching for lodging on the site etc.

I’ve put together a quick, 5 minute survey. If you can spare the time the feedback would really be invaluable to my research. If you have any questions at all feel free to respond to me and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.

Thank you!

Elizabeth L.

Hello @Liz_Lagno what specifically are you looking at in your dissertation ? What question are you seeking to answer?

Hmmmm. Theres no change in the way Airbnb describe listings - so in my opinion your first premise is somewhat inaccurate. Airbnb has always been about staying with hosts and living like a local. This was the case in 2012 when I made my first booking on the site and continues to be the case.

In actuality the opposite is happening, with Airbnb launching a superior listing service that has NONE of the elements of living with a local. Last year they launched business ready listings - again no living with a local and no interacting with hosts. You are referring to the Airbnb of yesteryear - that version has been and gone. In fact you’re referring to a version of Airbnb that probably only really existed in the beginning, despite all the marketing spiel they like to guff.

By the way I like Airbnb. I just don’t drink the Koolaid. (No idea how you spell koolaid).

2 Likes

send it on to me and will do, am a superhost

Send to me too.
I have a love-hate relationship with SH status.

Thank you!

Here are the questions:

1. How long have you been a SuperHost?