Guest Request With No Reviews, No Info?

I am new to airbnb and have been getting some bookings on my new house. One that came in last night just said “We are coming in for a concert.” The guest just joined airbnb this month, has a profile photo of a pair of shoes and no other details. I sent her a request asking her to tell me a bit about herself, who will be staying and to update her profile photo with an actual photo of herself.

I am tempted to decline but will await her response.

I have now changed my rules to include that guests must have a profile photo, confirm they have read my house rules and tell me about who will be staying in my home.

On another note, are the phone numbers that are next to my guest bookings their actual phone numbers or are they numbers assigned by airbnb and routed through the system?

Thanks!

1 Like

Yes, the phone numbers are real. I’m sure that other hosts will not agree with me but I accept people like the one you described. The shortest reason for the stay I had was ‘getaway’.

About 60% of my guests are first time Airbnb users that signed up in the same month they came to stay with me. Most of them tell me something about themselves and the reason for their trip, but not always. As a matter of fact, I got a reservation just last night that simply said “sightseeing”.

Knock on wood, we’ve had about 50 couples stay with us so far, and though there have been annoyances, none of them have been terrible. No one has stolen from us, done any damage greater than a stained towel or sheet, or disturbed our neighbors.

On the flip side, there have been stories on this forum of guests with positive reviews and good profiles turning into nightmares.