Environmental Impact of Airbnb - What do hosts do about it?

Hi,

I am a third year tourism student and for my bachelor thesis I am researching the environmental impacts of tourism. As Airbnb is a raising phenomenon in the tourism industry, and it seems to have a lower impact on the environment in comparison to more traditional accommodation providers, I want to get a deeper insight into this.

My survey is about whether Airbnb sets any environmental standards and what other measures hosts take to lower the negative environmental impact of their guests (in terms of water use, energy use, waste and carbon footprint).

If you have a few minutes to spare, I would appreciate your help.

The link to my survey: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScDm9fe-7SHjpG_11voHo2MrSWPYrd1_QiGmflxCTPDqeZ00w/viewform?usp=sf_link

Best Regards,

Maaike

1. No airbnb doesn’t

2. will depend on the host. guests are asked to take the same steps I do.

Thank you for your reply.

Then, may I ask if you are taking any extra steps to lower the environmental impacts of your guests? Or is that not a concern you are taking into account when sharing your home?

I think that perhaps you need to research a bit more? Many hosts here don’t share their home; their rentals are separate apartments or suites.

In fact, I’m pretty sure that I read something recently that said that the majority of Airbnb rentals are not home-sharing. It’s how Airbnb started out, but home-sharing seems to be the minority these days.

AirBnB is one of many booking systems.

I rent an apt in the basement of my home and there are a few things that I do to try to decrease our environmental impact even though I think it’s less convenient for myself and guests.