Deposit access?

Hi,
I’m new to airbnb and unfortunately a picture went missing during my second guests stay. It wasn’t expensive, something I got from home goods ages ago, but the guest insists she didn’t take it (she had kids there so perhaps one broke it and hid it in the trash, it was a glass framed picture. I thought I could automatically take it from her deposit but saw that I have to work it out with her and that if I can’t airbnb will step in but I have to have that happen prior to the next guest checking in. Someone else checked in that same day. So I’ve pretty much let it go but what do I do in the future and is there any way to access the deposit??

No. Just the procedure that you outlined here. AirBNB and the guest decide if you get any of the deposit money. [Yea, think about that one for a moment!]

No, there’s no other way to access the deposit. Just be sure that you have STR insurance to cover any losses but be aware that items will be broken or disappear. Make sure that there is nothing in your rental that can be easily broken or stolen (even if accidentally).

You’ll find that occasionally guests do break things (don’t we all?) and sometimes something like a towel will disappear - which is probably due to hasty packing more than malicious intent.

Over time, losses will balance out. Have your prices set to a level that accommodate the occasional loss/damage. As you know, stores do this to cover shoplifting.

1 Like

Thank you both. I completely expect things to break (she also broke a towel rack but said it “fell”) or “disappear” so I’ve made sure that everything in the house is inexpensive…I no longer live there so it’s strictly for air b n b use so anything that breaks or leaves isn’t as big a deal as it would be if I lived there. Thank you for the suggestion to get insurance I hadn’t thought of that.

Best,
Saranah

1 Like