Cleaning white towels

Generally my white towels and linens stay pretty bright looking (especially since I started providing makeup remover wipes) but I noticed at one of my properties that my towels are starting to look a bit off-white. I’m no laundry pro - does anyone have good tips for giving white laundry a lift? Soaking overnight in a bucket of bleach? Hanging out in the sun? What works easiest and best?

We always wash our towels apart from other loads and add something like Glowhite or Vanish stain remover along with the detergent.
Not a good idea to soak in bleach - it can damage the fibres and also return them to their natural off-white colour.

1 Like

I ask the cleaners to spray any stains with Oxiclean but it seems like they don’t always do it. And now the towels are looking a bit dingy. I will probably buy grey towels next round but I’d like to get a bit more life out of these if I can.

Try Mrs. Stewarts blueing.

I wouldn’t buy grey towels. Various skin products will stain or bleach them. Nice towels are $7 each at Costco. When you are no longer satisfied with your old ones appearance just get new ones and use the old ones as rags or donate them to your local Humane Society.

4 Likes

Ok thanks Dusty, I will try that!

I second that recommendation. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’m also a huge fan of Mrs. Stewarts blueing - can buy on Amazon too. Oxiclean added to the detergent helps on a regular basis too.
Bleaching doesnt work great for me with the really hard water, it ends up yellowing my towels, especially if they got sunscreen on them.

1 Like

Ordered bluing on Amazon! Good to know about bleaching and hard water, ours is hard here too.
Will do some testing with my towels this week once I receive the bluing and report back!