At what point do I cancel her reservation?

Guest is supposed to arrive Friday morning.

Also I’m just learning about screen shots so apologies if i did it wrong.

(I’m totally cool with cancelling and blocking the weekend - but this is my new listing and my first time even thinking about cancelling, so I’m not sure what to do or say.)

Advice?

And maybe I’m overreacting? This is very possible. She has no reviews, though, so I can’t look to other hosts for guidance. She’s been a member since July 2016…

(The mattress is a twin, and yeah they could physically squeeze in but I’ve also got booked guests for the guest room, and the house and it’s plumbing is happy with 6-8 people but not 9)

This would be a “call AirBNB” time and say that you are not comfortable with this guest. She doesn’t listen. She is planning to bring extra person.

3 Likes

Thank you. I needed a push.

Wow she doesn’t take no for an answer! With stubbornly persistent guests, I find it’s best to cancel if they haven’t checked-in already. It saves you from further headaches. Even if this guest were to check-in, I feel she’s the type who would continue demanding things during her stay. I would say cancel by calling Airbnb customer service. Since the reservation is coming up soon, they will be able to expedite the cancellation AND will leave your dates unblocked so that hopefully a nicer deserving guest can book it and appreciate all that you offer. Good luck!

2 Likes

Someone like this will suggest that her friend could 1. Sleep under the dining table; 2. put an air mattress in with the baby; 3. Will pout the entire visit if their friend is not allowed to join them.

4 Likes

Ok, have called airbnb, they’re going to “reach out to the guest”

I affirmed that I’m happy to give a full refund and that I’m afraid if she comes anyway she’ll be unhappy. “I’m just not comfortable with her staying here.”